Island of Fog Omnibus Edition (Books 1-3)

Posted on October 14, 2014 (Subscribe to Blog)

The first three books of the ISLAND OF FOG series are now available in a special Omnibus Edition!

This offers a pretty good saving for those starting out with the series. Since Book 1 is free on Kindle, Kobo, and Apple, while Books 2 and 3 are $3.99 each, this $6.39 omnibus edition means roughly 20% off for the trilogy.

It's even better news for Nook users who have to pay $2.99 for the first book, because the omnibus is still $6.39 and is therefore about 42% cheaper for the trilogy.

As it says in the description:

Island of Fog Omnibus Edition (Books 1-3)Island of Fog Omnibus Edition (Books 1-3)

This fantasy-adventure saga follows a group of 12-year-old children who discover they're shapeshifters, able to transform into creatures of myth and legend. The first book is mysterious and creepy, a slow-build to discovery. In the second and third books, the young shapeshifters find themselves up against dangerous monsters and powerful enemies as they try to cope with their newfound abilities in a strange new world.

Books included in this Omnibus Edition:

#1 – Island of Fog
#2 – Labyrinth of Fire
#3 – Mountain of Whispers

New York Times bestselling fantasy author Piers Anthony has read all the books in the series and reviews them on his website: "I loved this novel; it starts interesting, develops tension, and concludes with reasonable explanations that relate to the whole world" ... "Realistic within its framework and hard-hitting physically and emotionally" ... "I recommend this as I did the other two: read them with your children."

Although these three books form a complete, self-contained trilogy, the story continues in the following:

#4 – Lake of Spirits
#5 – Roads of Madness
#6 – Chamber of Ghosts
#7 – Valley of Monsters
#8 – Prison of Despair
#9 – Castle of Spells

The series is suitable for all readers aged 9 and up.

This book is available on Kindle US, Kindle UK, Nook, Apple, and Kobo.

If were to do other omnibus editions, it actually makes sense to do three more containing two books each. The first three books are definitely a trilogy. Books 4 and 5 are a pair, as are Book 6 and 7. And of course Book 8 and 9 are a two-book story. It wouldn't work very well to present them any other way.

All that said, I doubt I'll be doing them. I'm hoping this 3-book omnibus will be a useful tool on its own, especially for all those out there who downloaded Book 1 for free and are wondering about continuing the series. Now they can get Books 2 and 3 for a few dollars cheaper!

Comment by ROGER ESCHBACHER on Thursday, October 16, 2014...

Awesome. I think this is a great idea and plan on doing the same with my series when I get to the three book mark (10-15 years from now). ;)

What are your thoughts on only going digital? Print too unwieldy and/or expensive?

Comment by KEITH ROBINSON on Tuesday, October 21, 2014...

I'm definitely going digital-only on non-Fog books for the foreseeable future. I'm only making print books of my Fog series out of respect for those who have been collecting them in that form. I do sell a few Fog books in print — 5-15 a month — but I'm not sure it's worth the worry of inconsistent print quality that buyers may be receiving.

I figure that I can always add print copies if there's enough demand. Electronic is by far where the sales are.

If you haven't already, definitely try to get your books on Apple and other platforms. You can distribute on Amazon separately, and also on Nook and Kobo separately, but you can't so easily distribute on Apple. If nothing else, use Draft2Digital for that.

Post a comment...

Name (optional)

Email, website or blog (optional)

Comments (no HTML, just simple text)

Please answer: 5 + 2 =  

Blog posts by date...

December 2017
November 2017

Show/hide all previous posts